2009 Awards Dinner

The Kansas City Power held our end of the year dinner at  Cinzetti’s Italian Restaurant tonight with record attendance of 60 plus.  The successful evening included special honors for two members of the club.  Ryan Richardson and Peter Chung each received the Kansas City Power Life Membership Award.  Their contributions to the club on and off the field have been immeasurable, and have more than earned them their place in KC Power history.

The night was full of suspense as the first medal presented, Best First Year Player, came down to the wire.  With 24 votes, Jeremy Wilson edged out Graham Laird (23) for the honors that were presented by 2008 winner, Wes Edwin.  Jeremy quickly filled the role of ruckman, and made strong showings not only in the metro competition, but the Power games against the likes of Dallas, Denver, STL/Ohio Valley, and on into Nationals.  Notable mention: Derek Clopton (16), Scott Myers (16)

The next award presented was the Coach’s Clubman of the Year.  This medal is given to the player that best suits the ambition and passion of the game as deemed by coach Mark Lambert.  First year player David Fritz has shown that he is willing to put in the time and effort to perfect his game and give full support to the rest of the club, attending more than 90% of the years training sessions and games.

Not to be outdone by the drama of the first medal of the awards dinner, the Mark Scott medal for Best and Fairest was the pinnacle award of the evening.  Appropriately named after the 2007 Center Half-back of the decade, Australian Mark Scott logged many hours on the fields of Kansas City, and the ovals of many opponent cities.  A great player and mentor, he will be honored each year by the best on ground.  This years recipient was Carlos Santacruz with 17 votes.  A very quick and dexterous wingman with a strong leg and even stronger will, Carlos received 1st place on ground votes 4 times this season.  The self-proclaimed “beast on the field” began his career with the Power just a year prior in 2008, contributing freatly in the Division III National Championship run in Colorado Springs.  Picking up big votes early on this season in metro play, Carlos was able to stay off veterans Ryan Richardson (16) and 2008 winner Thias Amick (14).  Notable mention: Bruce Cameron (11), Mike Brookshire (9), Wes Edwin (9)

The final award of the evening was the Club Person of the Year medal presented to Simon Cox for his undying sense of mateship and commitment to the club in 2009.  Coxy, as he is lovingly referred to as, finagled his way into a contract extension through his employer in order to remain in the states until after Nationals.  The lovable aussie forewent his move to England to meet back up with his wife and two sons, and had remained to give the Power a much needed boost in on-field technique and off-field camaraderie.  A truly deserved honor, Simon Cox will continue to inspire those who know him long after his time with the Power.  We can only hope that he isn’t away long before his first return visit.

Share thie Article

Posted on by KC Power President in Team

Add a Comment