Kansas City Sports - Kansas City Australian Fules Football

Kansas City Power 2015 Season Schedule Released

2015 Kansas City Power Schedule o   May 9-10 – Des Moines 80/35 10’s Tournament – Des Moines, IA o   June 6-7  – KC Power @ Tulsa 18’s – Tulsa, OK o   June 20-21  – KC Power @ Des Moines 18’s – Des Read more

First Metro (All Comers) Game of the Season!

  Bring your friends and family out and celebrate the first game of the season! We'll have the first kick at 10am, at Hyde Park (39th and Gilham Read more

KC Power to Kick off 2014 season!

  Join the Kansas City Power Australian Football Club at Gillham Park on Saturday, April 12 at 10am. Coach Pete Chung will be going over season expectations, training sessions, game schedule and other on-field issues. Don't forget returning players can submit their Read more

The Power Remembers One of it's Own

The Power wants to publicly take some time to remember Charlie "Chuck" Casebier. Charlie was an avid club supporter seen at every club function. Charlie traveled to Nationals and away games, and was a bright spot within the Power. Read more

Metro #2 - Kirkie Cup

The Metro moved to Friday night play and it proved to be a great evening for the players and fans. Pictures from the day ...                                                                                                                                                                                                                       Read more

2010 Kirkie Cup Games

Posted on by KC Power President in Team 2 Comments

<SPAN style="COLOR: #000000" mce_style="color: #000000;">KC Wolfpack (marron/blue), KC Warlock (black/yellow), KC Cobra Kai (black/red)</SPAN> 

KC Wolfpack (maroon/blue), KC Warlock (black/yellow), KC Cobra Kai (black/red)

On Saturday, April 24, as the steady rain was coming down in the morning and continued throughout most of the day, the KC Power footy season got underway with the annual Kirkie Cup Tournament.  3 KC teams, Wolfpack, Cobra Kai, and KC Warlock, and the Des Moines Roosters, battled it out in challenging wet conditions.  A special welcome is extended to the Des Moines Roosters who continue to expand on their newly formed 2009 team. 

KC Wolfpack vs. Des Moines Roosters
With a great turn out of players, the games got underway with exciting pace from the first whistle.  Wet conditions ensured the ball being on the ground a lot through the day, and the first game saw Dutchy kick a seemingly easy soccer goal off the ground. The big men were always going to struggle in the wet, but Jeremy Wilson showed that he means business for 2010, and a welcome return by Polly for the first time this year also showed some promise.

The final saw a close game between KC Warlock and KC Wolfpack. With the score see-sawing, and KC Warlock holding onto a lead into the dying minutes, the Wolfpack was not done. The ball was moved up field and after fighting for possession, Journey made a hand pass to a running Caleb Doherty who kicked the winning goal for the Wolfpack with the absolute last kick of the day. 

Congrats to the Wolfpack for winning the final, but also to all who turned up and played today. Carlos Santacruz was awarded the MVP of the tournament. Thanks to Kirkie and Scotty for umpiring all day, and a special thanks to our great supporters who sat in the rain and cheered the players on!

2010 Kirkie Cup Champions – KC Wolfpack: (from left to right) Diction, Los, Dan, Caleb, Ox, Skiets, Lambo (coach), Patto, Journey, Ben

Some special highlights in the tough conditions included; 2 separate Alan Didak style goals from the forward pocket kicked by Thias, Yaza’s 3 goals in the final, Billy’s straight forward and calculated running game out of the backline, Walle in the backline – and doing a great job, 2nd year players Ox, Ben, Diction, Fritzy, Scotty TV, all getting a lot of the football which is very promising, Dutchy providing a headache against the Roosters, Brady’s great acrobatic chest mark, Jim and Caleb diving into the mud at every opportunity,  a solid performance all day from Carlos and Thias.

2010 KC Power

Share thie Article